Nathan Sass

Reflecting on 9/11

In Politics on September 8, 2011 at 11:26 AM

Looking out the window, it reminds me of that day almost 10 years ago.

Same weather and crystal blue sky; quiet anticipation for another Packers season.

Thinking of that time, and the days that followed, I have mixed emotions.  I feel pure patriotic pride for the men and women that sacrificed on that day and all those since, at home and abroad.

At the same time I feel some sense of shame that I personally have not done more to honor them, and more importantly assist them.

I should have done more 10 years ago.  That is regret that I will carry forever.  I should have done SOMETHING.  Instead, I let someone else do it for me.  I hope I never again make that mistake.

I am reminded of the closing scenes in Saving Private Ryan, where Patrick Ryan asks his wife if he has been a good man, and earned the sacrifice of those that gave their lives to save his.  I ask myself that question a lot, and sometimes I don’t like the answer.

Maybe that is a question that more of us need to ask ourselves often.  It not only reminds us of what we should be doing, but more importantly what others have done so we may enjoy the lives we do.

“I feel how weak and fruitless must be any word of mine which should attempt to beguile you from the grief of a loss so overwhelming. But I cannot refrain from tendering you the consolation that may be found in the thanks of the Republic they died to save.

I pray that our Heavenly Father may assuage the anguish of your bereavement, and leave you only the cherished memory of the loved and lost, and the solemn pride that must be yours to have laid so costly a sacrifice upon the altar of freedom.”Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

