Nathan Sass

Reflections on Thanksgiving

In Thanksgiving on November 24, 2010 at 5:00 AM

Thursday is Thanksgiving, and for too many that means turkey, naps on the couch and football.

On this Thanksgiving I think it’s important for all of us to sit down and reflect and give heartfelt thanks to the Lord for all he has blessed us with.

Feel free to add the things you are thankful for in the comments section below.

I am thankful for:

My wife.  The most beautiful and loving woman in the world.  She is my best friend and confidant, my strength and my conscience. Her love has made me a better man.  Without her, I cannot imagine who or where I would be.  She is my rock.

My children.  I have been blessed with 3 wonderful and special children who have taught me more about life than I have taught them.  Through them, I now better understand my relationship with God and the true nature of unconditional love.  They are the light of my life and my inspiration.

Family.  As times have gotten difficult for some of us, we have pulled together, not apart. We have had difficulties and differences, but are always there for each other in our times of greatest need.  Without the support of my family I would not be where I am today.  I am blessed to have so many wonderful people in my life.

My ex and her husband.  I am so very blessed to have them in my life.  Together we have learned what true forgiveness is, and how incredibly powerful and transformational it can be.

My friends.  I am thankful not just for their friendship, but for their tolerance of me.  I know I am not the easiest guy in the world to be around, but these people see past that and accept me anyway.

My mistakes.  Too often we regret, rather than give thanks for the mistakes we make.  This year I give thanks for my mistakes, through which I learned more than I could have through any successes.

The USA.  I am so richly blessed to live in what is still the greatest nation in the history of man, not because of power or money, but because of liberty and freedom to worship, speak, and live the way our conscience dictates.

The men and women of the armed forces.  This could not be the nation it is without those who stand vigil over our freedoms and willingly place themselves in harm’s way to advance the cause of liberty around the world.  They fight not to conquer, but to liberate.

My readers.  Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts. 

God bless you and yours this holiday season.

  1. I have too many things to be thankful for and it is always good to be reminded of that!
    Thank you for the reminder.
    God Bless all of us. God Bless our wonderful America. God Bless those far from home and family.

  2. Nathan,
    Thank you for the very fine article.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.
    I am very thankful for many of the similar things you are.
    I can say God-Family-Health and friends.
    have a safe and blessed week and season.
    Bill

  3. The Vikings are giving thanks they don’t have to face Green Bay again this weekend. Have the best of Turkey Days!
    Tex

Leave a Reply

